View Full Version : "National Society of High School Scholars" Anyone ever heard of this org.?
Bev in B'ville
03-27-2008, 05:17 PM
My dd received a "Congratulations" letter today. It said, "Based on your outstanding academic achievement at your high school, you have been nominated......" Well, obviously I didn't nominate my dd. Of course, the big warning flag for me was the membership card to be returned and the $45 fee for membership.
Have any of you ever heard of this organization and is it for real? If so, I wonder how they were made aware of my dd since we homeschool and I don't have to report scores to anyone? PSAT maybe?
Thanks for your input.
Gwen in VA
03-27-2008, 05:26 PM
I have heard that it is a bit of a scam. My understanding is that you pay some money in order to say that you are a member, but you don't really get anything for it.
Here is the address of a thread on Collegeconfidential.com (a group that has provided lots of helpful information for us) about the society:
http://talk.collegeconfidential.com/parents-forum/39022-national-society-high-school-scholars.html
LisaNY
03-27-2008, 06:20 PM
We got one of those letters, too. I asked the head of the Honor Society at my dd's school, and she told me it was not legit. My dd is part of the National Honor Society through school. She not only had to have good grades, but she also had to put in a lot of community service hours as well as taking part in service-oriented projects at school.
Bev in B'ville
03-27-2008, 06:48 PM
nm
percytruffle
03-27-2008, 07:12 PM
Yup, a scam. When ours came I immediately threw it into the circular file.;)
Sahady
04-04-2011, 07:33 AM
NSHSS is definately a scam... they said that they gave me this thing cause my grades were outstanding... last time i checked failing grades were NOT outstanding...
if someone sent one of those to you, report it to your school...
MommyThrice
06-24-2011, 06:30 PM
My son got an invitation his freshman year. We've never even calculated his GPA!
Rainefox
06-24-2011, 06:49 PM
It is a scam, my son has SN friends in PS who got those letters.
Allegro
06-24-2011, 07:07 PM
Have you noticed that "NHSS" has only posted twice? :glare: Looks like a scam to me.
vBulletin® v3.8.7, Copyright ©2000-2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.